Weekly, monthly, quarterly — how often should you pay your employees? The answer varies, but the good news is that you can set your own wage payment schedule. The law says, however, that your payment schedule must be consistent. You can’t pay your employees weekly this month and then tell them next month, “Gee, sorry, we’re going to a quarterly schedule now.” Whatever you decide to do, you have to remain consistent. In Maine, the interval may not be increased without written notice to the employee at least 30 days in advance of the increase.
State Pay Day Requirements
In addition to federal laws regulating wages, states have also enacted laws regulating when people get paid for their work. These laws, called state pay day laws, vary according to the state. Most state pay day laws require that employees be paid at least twice a month, while others mandate monthly payments. The general rule of thumb is to pay employees at least biweekly.
Maine Law – Timely & Full Payment of Wages
Minimum frequency and full payment. At regular intervals not to exceed 16 days, every employer must pay in full all wages earned by each employee. Each payment must include all wages earned to within 8 days of the payment date. Payments that fall on a day when the business is regularly closed must be paid no later than the following business day. An employee who is absent from work at a time fixed for payment must be paid as if the employee was not absent. Source
Some states have very complicated pay day laws. In Arizona, for example, paychecks must be issued no more than 16 days apart, and employees must receive at least two or more checks per month. Michigan has the least restrictive laws, with paycheck frequency determined by occupation. Because no two states govern wage frequency the same way, business owners have to do their homework and double-check the requirements for their particular state.
Since wage laws can and do change frequently, it’s important to know your state’s current regulations. Luckily, we have a convenient solution for this.
Hourly or Salaried Employees
You can pay hourly or salaried employees at different times. For example, you may choose to pay hourly employees weekly, and salaried employees twice a month. As long as your payment schedule complies with state requirements and is consistent and clear for employees to understand, you should be fine.
Because issuing paychecks more frequently ends up costing employers slightly more over time, most employers want to issue as few checks as possible. Employees, on the other hand, want to be paid more frequently. You’ve got to add up the costs of payroll processing and direct deposit, as well as other costs associated with issuing paychecks, and see how they align with your state’s pay day laws. Only then can you determine the best pay schedule for your business. Just make sure it’s fair, complies with state and federal laws, and clearly shows employees when they can expect to get paid. That will make everyone happy!