The following changes to Massachusetts employment law take effect on January 1, 2022.
Massachusetts’s minimum wage will increase to $14.25 per hour. The minimum base wage for tipped employees will increase to $6.15 per hour.
The premium pay rate for hours worked on Sundays and certain holidays will decrease to 1.1 times the employee’s regular rate. Premium pay applies to employers that are retailers. Additional details are available on the platform.
The Department of Family and Medical Leave has updated its notices and poster on its website to reflect the new rates for 2022. Employers must give notice of the new rates to employees within 30 days.
The following changes of Maine employment law will go into effect on January 1, 2022.
Maine’s minimum wage will increase to $12.75 per hour. The minimum base wage for tipped employees will increase to $6.38 per hour. Additionally, due to city ordinance and state of emergency hazard wage, the city of Portland’s minimum wage will increase to $19.50 on January 1, 2022. Once the state of emergency has been lifted, the minimum wage will return to its scheduled increase of $13 per hour (if lifted in 2022). The City of Portland has a scheduled increase to reach $15 per hour minimum wage by 2024.