Maine Minimum Wage
Maine’s minimum wage is increasing, effective January 1, 2019. Maine statute regarding salary workers is based on the state minimum wage and therefore will also see an increase.
2019 State Minimum Wage: $11.00*
2019 Minimum Direct Service Wage: $5.50
2019 Maximum Tip Credit: $5.50
2019 Minimum Weekly Salary for Exempt Employees: $634.62
Portland, Maine Minimum Wage
*As of July 1, 2018, Portland’s minimum wage is $10.90 and connected to the CPI, per their local ordinance. The state minimum wage will be $11 as of January 1, 2019, however, Portland’s minimum wage ordinance may exceed the state minimum wage on July 1, 2019. Maine Department of Labor does not enforce local ordinances. Any questions related to Portland’s minimum wage ordinance should be directed to the City of Portland.